Marriage Law New Jersey

MARRIAGE

PROCEDURE

  1. The person interested to marry must apply for the marriage license at clerk of court's office.
  2. Applications for NJ marriage licenses must be obtained at the municipal office in the bride's town or if the bride does not live in the state of New Jersey, from the municipal office of the groom's town or if both the bride and groom are from out of state, apply at the municipal office of the town where they wan to marry.
  3. The marriage license must be applied at least one month before the wedding ceremony.
  4. The waiting period is 3 days for obtaining a marriage license.
  5. The license is valid for 30 days.
  6. A cash fee of 28$ is levied for obtaining a license.
  7. The license can only be used within the State of New Jersey.

AGE REQUIREMENT

  1. A person of the age of 18 is eligible to marry.
  2. However, Applicants under 18 can marry if both parents consent to the marriage. The consent must be given under oath in front of two witnesses.
  3. The male or female of the age of 16 or younger parties may marry with parental consent and/or permission of judge. Younger parties may obtain license in case of pregnancy or birth of child.

DOCUMENTS REQUIRED FOR MARRIAGE LICENSE

    1. birth certificates of the man and woman applying for marriage,
    2. tax information
    3. proof of identification (proof of residency, Valid Driver's License, A Lease or A Tax Return)
    4. information about previous marriages
  1. The application for marriage license has to be signed before a witness.
  2. The bride will need to know what her married name will be before she signs the marriage certificate and the application has to be filled accordingly.
  3. After the license is prepared is sent by mail in the correspondence address mentioned in the application.
  4. After obtaining a license a justice of the peace or a religious clergyman may be approached for solemnizing the marriage.
  5. In the wedding day, marriage license is submitted to the person solemnizing the marriage,
  6. After the ceremony, he'll sign it and send it to the proper government agency for validation.
  7. The person performing the ceremony should file the license with the registrar in the municipality where the marriage took place within 5 days of the wedding.
  8. Ministers of religion must complete a certificate of marriage and return it to the county clerk.

PERSONS AUTHORIZED TO SOLEMNIZE A MARRIAGE CEREMONY

The marriage ceremony can be performed by:

  1. Any Federal, State, Municipal judge or magistrate (even if they are retired);
  2. Any county clerk;
  3. Any mayor or deputy mayor of a town;
  4. Chairman of any township committee;
  5. Any religious minister.
VARIOUS CLERK'S OFFICE IN NEW JERSEY WHERE A MARRIAGE LICENSE MAY APPLIED
 

• Atlantic County
Mays Landing, NJ
609.625.4011

• Camden County
Camden, NJ
609.757.7085

• Essex County
Newark, NJ
973.621.4920

• Flemington Town
Flemington, NJ
908.782.8840

• Monmouth County
Freehold, NJ
908.431.7321

• Newton Town
Newton, NJ
973.383.3523

• Newark Town
Newark, NJ
973.733.3844

• New Brunswick County
New Brunswick, NJ
908.745.5016

• Morristown County
Morristown, NJ
973.326.7407

• Bergen Municipal
Hackensack, NJ
201.646.3972

• Burlington County
Mount Holly, NJ
609.267.0170

• Elmwood Park Boro
Elmwood Park, NJ
201.796.1457

• Cumberland County
Bridgeton, NJ
609.455.3230

• Cape May Courthouse
New Jersey, NJ
201.547.5150

• Belvidere Town
Belvidere, NJ
908.475.5331

• Jersey City
Jersey City, NJ
201.547.2000