Courts Law Norway

Traditionally, the Judiciary is known as the third branch of government.
The ordinary courts of law in consist of
  1. Supreme Court of Justice (H'yesterett),
  2. Interlocutory Appeals Committee of the Supreme Court (H'yesteretts kj'rem'lsutvalg),
  3. Courts of Appeal (lagmannsrettene),
  4. District Courts (tingrett), and
  5. Conciliation Courts (forliksr'det),
  6. Special courts.
Norway is divided into six territorial jurisdictions (lagd'mmer) and 15 judicial districts (lagsogn).
The Judiciary comprises a relatively independent branch of government.
The Judiciary is able to set aside a statute passed by the Storting if it is found to be in contravention of the Constitution.
This right to 'censor' the Storting is not laid down in the Constitution and is controversial.
The court of appeal is the intermediary court between the supreme court and the trial courts.
The Court of appeal deal in the cases
The Supreme Court hears both civil and criminal cases in appeal, and has jurisdiction in all areas of law.
Any matter brought before the Supreme Court must initially be considered by the Appeals Selection Committee.
The adjudicating on interlocutory appeals, the Appeals Selection Committee also functions as a filter for appeal cases.
Appeal is the judicial remedy normally pursued in respect of judgements rendered by the lower courts, whereas interlocutory appeal is the appropriate remedy against rulings and decisions of the lower courts.
An appeal may not be brought before the Supreme Court without the leave of the Appeals Selection Committee.
It is the function of the Supreme Court, as the highest court in the land, to ensure uniformity of legal process and to contribute to the resolution of matters on which the law is unclear.
Accordingly, leave to appeal to the Supreme Court is often granted in cases that raise matters of principle beyond the specific subject matter of the issue in dispute.
The proceedings of the Supreme Court are almost always oral, and are generally conducted in open court.
However, evidence and testimony are not presented directly as in cases before the District Courts and the Court of Appeal.