We, the people of Cambodia; Accustomed to having been an outstanding civilization, a prosperous, large, flourishing and glorious nation, with high prestige radiating like a diamond; Having declined grievously during the past two decades, having gone through suffering and destruction, and having been weakened terribly;
Having awakened and resolutely rallied and determined to unite for the consolidation of national unity, the preservation and defense of Cambodia's territory and precious sovereignty and the fine Angkor civilization, and the restoration of Cambodia into an "Island of Peace" based on multi-party liberal democratic responsibility for the nation's future destiny of moving toward perpetual progress, development, prosperity, and glory; With this resolute will;
We inscribe the following as the Constitution of the Kingdom of Cambodia:
Chapter I Sovereignty

Article 1: Monarchy, Liberal Democracy, Pluralism, Independence

1. Cambodia is a Kingdom with a King who rules according to the Constitution and to the principles of liberal democracy and pluralism.

2. The Kingdom of Cambodia is an independent, sovereign, peaceful, permanently neutral and non-aligned country.

Article 2: Integrity

The territorial integrity of the Kingdom of Cambodia may absolutely not be violated within its borders as defined in the 1/100,000 scale map made between the years 1933-1953 and internationally recognized between the years 1963-1969.

Article 3: Indivisibility

The Kingdom of Cambodia is an indivisible State.

Article 4: Motto

The motto of the Kingdom of Cambodia is: "Nation, Religion, King".

Article 5: Language

The official language and script are Khmer.

Article 6: Capital, Coat-of-arms

1. Phnom Penh is the capital of the Kingdom of Cambodia.

2. The national flag, anthem and coat-of-arms are defined in Annexes I, II and III.