The Parliament

Part IV The Parliament

Section 28: Membership

The Parliament shall consist of one assembly of not more than one hundred and seventy-nine Members, of whom two Members shall be elected on the Faeroe Islands and two Members in Greenland.

Section 29: Right to Vote

1. Any Danish subject whose permanent residence is in the Realm, and who has the age qualification for suffrage provided for in Subsection (2) shall have the right to vote at Parliament elections, provided that he has not been declared incapable of conducting his own affairs. It shall be laid down by Statute to what extent conviction and public assistance amounting to poor relief within the meaning of the law shall entail disfranchisement.

2. The age qualification for suffrage shall be such as has resulted from the Referendum held under the Act dated the 25th March, 1953. Such age qualification for suffrage may be altered at any time by Statute. A Bill passed by the Parliament for the purpose of such enactment shall receive the Royal Assent only when the provision on the alteration in the age qualification for suffrage has been put to a Referendum in accordance with Section 42(5), which was not resulted in the rejection of the provision.

Section 30: Eligibility for Membership

1. Any person who has a right to vote at Parliament elections shall be eligible for membership of the Parliament, unless he has been convicted of an act which in the eyes of the public makes him unworthy of being a Member of the Parliament.

2. Civil servants who are elected Members of the Parliament shall not require permission from the Government to accept their election.

Section 31: Elections

1. The Members of the Parliament shall be elected by general and direct ballot.

2. Rules for the exercise of the suffrage shall be laid down by the Elections Act, which, to secure equal representation of the various opinions of the Electorate, shall prescribe the manner of election and decide whether proportional representation shall be adopted with or without elections in single-member constituencies.

3. In determining the number of seats to be allotted to each area regard shall be paid to the number of inhabitants, the number of electors, and the density of population.

4. The Elections Act shall provide rules governing the election of substitutes and their admission to the Parliament, and also rules for the procedure to be adopted where a new election is required.

5. Special rules for the representation of Greenland in the Parliament may be laid down by Statute.

Section 32: Period

1. The members of the Parliament shall be elected for a period of four years.

2. The King may at any time issue writs for a new election with the effect that the existing seats be vacated upon a new election. Provided that writs for an election shall not be issued after the appointment of a new Ministry until the Prime Minister has presented himself to the Parliament.

3. The Prime Minister shall cause a general election to be held before the expiration of the period for which the Parliament has been elected.

4. No seats shall be vacated until a new election has been held.

5. Special rules may be provided by Statute for the commencement and determination of Faeroe Islands and Greenland representation in the Parliament.

6. If a Member of the Parliament becomes ineligible his seating the Parliament shall become vacant.

7. On approval of his election each new Member shall make a solemn declaration that he will adhere to the Constitution Act.

Section 33: Validity of Election

The Parliament itself shall determine the validity of the election of any Member and decide whether a Member has lost his eligibility or not.

Section 34: Inviolability

The Parliament shall be inviolable. Any person who attacks its security or freedom, or any person who issues or obeys any command aiming thereat shall be deemed guilty of high treason.