The Republic of Haiti


The Haitian people proclaim this constitution in order to:

Ensure their inalienable and imprescriptible rights to life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness; in conformity with the Act of Independence of 1804 and the Universal Declaration of the Rights of Man of 1948.

Constitute a socially just, economically free, and politically independent Haitian nation.

Establish a strong and stable State, capable of protecting the country's values, traditions, sovereignty, independence and national vision.

Implant democracy, which entails ideological pluralism and political rotation and affirm the inviolable rights of the Haitian people.

Strengthen national unity by eliminating all discrimination between the urban and rural populations, by accepting the community of languages and culture and by recognizing the right to progress, information, education, health, employment and leisure for all citizens.

Ensure the separation and the harmonious distribution of the powers of the State at the service of the fundamental interests and priorities of the Nation.

Set up a system of government based on fundamental liberties, and the respect for human rights, social peace, economic equity, concerted action and participation of all the people in major decisions affecting the life of a nation, through effective decentralization.

CHAPTER I  The Republic of Haiti

Haiti is an indivisible, sovereign, independent, cooperatist, free, democratic and social republic.
The city of Port-au-Prince is the capital and the seat of government. This seat may be moved elsewhere for reasons of force majeure.

The national colors shall be blue and red.

The emblem of the Haitian Nation shall be a flag with the following description:

a. Two (2) equal sized horizontal bands: a blue one on top and a red one underneath;
b. The coat of arms of the Republic are: a Palette surmounted by the liberty cap, and under the palms a trophy with the legend:

In Union there is Strength.

The national motto is: Liberty; Equality, Fraternity.

The national anthem shall be the "Dessalinienne."

All Haitians are united by a common language: Creole.
Creole and French are the official languages of the Republic

The monetary unit shall be the gourde, which is divided into centimes.

The cult of the personality is categorically forbidden. Effigies and names of living personages may not appear on the currency, stamps, seals, public buildings, streets or works of art.

Use of effigies of deceased persons must be approved by the Legislature.

CHAPTER II  Territory of the Haitian Republic

The territory of the Haitian Republic comprises:

a. The western part of the island of Haiti and the adjacent island of la Geneva, La Tortue, I'Ile à Vache, les Cayemittes, La Navase, La Grande Caye and the other islands of the Territorial Sea;

b)It is bounded on the east by the Dominican Republic, on the north by the Atlantic Ocean, on the south and west by the Caribbean Sea or Sea of the Antilles;

c. The air space over the land sea of the Republic.

The territory of the Haitian Republic is inviolable and may not be alienated either in whole or in part by any treaty or convention.

The territory of the Republic is divided and subdivided into Departments, Arrondissements, Comunes, Quartiers and Comunal actions.

The law determines the number and boundaries of these divisions and subdivisions, and regulates their organization and operation.