Final and Temporary Provisions

Article 1  [Effectiveness, Approval]
(1) This Constitution becomes effective today.  It will be automatically promulgated at midnight today.
(2) The process followed to draft this Constitution, its approval, promulgation, and its provisions are not subject to review by any jurisdictional body or to any changes, with the exception of the previsions for its reform or amendment.
Article 2  [Pledge of Allegiance]
The president of the Republic, the president of Congress, and the chief justice of the Supreme Court will pledge allegiance to this Constitution before the National Constituent Assembly on 20 June 1992.
Article 3  [Continuity of Duties and Powers]
(1) The president of the Republic, senators and deputies will stay in their respective offices until their successors are elected in the general elections scheduled for 1993.  Their duties and powers are those established in this Constitution, both for the president of the Republic and for the members of Congress, which cannot be dissolved.
(2) Until the senators and deputies elected in the 1993 general elections are installed, the process for the discussion and approval of laws will conform to the provisions of Article 154 to Article 167 of the 1967 Constitution.
Article 4  [Next Elections]
The next elections for president and vice president of the Republic, for senators and deputies, and for governors and members of departmental boards will be held simultaneously on a date set by the Electoral Board of the Capital, which must call these elections within the 15 April - 15 May period in 1993.  The officials elected in these elections will be inaugurated on 15 August 1993, with the exception of the members-elect of Congress, who will be inaugurated on 1 July of that year.
Article 5  [Continuity of Judges' Offices]
(1) All judges and other officials will stay in office until the completion of the term set for them under the 1967 Constitution.  If their successors have not yet been appointed by the time their 1967 Constitution term is up, they will stay in office temporarily until their successors are appointed.
(2) They may be replaced by other officials or judges who will stay in office temporarily and in accordance with the mechanisms established by the 1967 Constitution.  Those acting officials or judges will stay in office until their replacements are appointed in accordance with the mechanisms established by this Constitution.
(3) The comptroller general and the deputy comptroller general will also stay in office until the officials mentioned in Article 281 of this Constitution are appointed.
Article 6  [Continuity of Offices]
Until the 1993 general elections, the president and vice president of the Republic, senators and deputies, governors and members of departmental boards, and the members of the following current electoral bodies will stay in office.  The Central Electoral Board, district electoral boards, and electoral courts, in accordance with those provisions of the electoral code, may not contradict this Constitution.
Article 7  [Appointments]
No appointments will be made to fill the positions of officials or judges whose appointment requires the participation of Congress or of its chambers, of officials of institutions created by this Constitution, or of institutions having different composition from that established under the 1967 Constitution, until after the national authorities elected in 1993 have been inaugurated, with the exception of the provisions of Article 9 of this title.
Article 8  [Irremovagility of Judges]
Those judges who have been confirmed in keeping with the regular mechanisms established by this Constitution will be entitled to the permanent irremovability status mentioned under paragraph 2 of Article 252 "About the Irremovability of Judges," following a second confirmation in office.
Article 9  [Trial Jury for Magistrates]
(1) The members of the Trial Jury for Magistrates will be appointed based on proposals submitted by the respective branches of government within 60 days after the promulgation of this Constitution.  Until the members of the Council for Magistrates are appointed, the council will be manned by one law professor for each law faculty.  Each professor will be nominated by the respective faculty board.  This jury will hear and pass judgement on all pending charges against judges that have not yet been decided by the Supreme Court of Justice.  Until the respective law is passed, the proceedings will conform to the provisions of Law 879/81, the Code on Judicial Organization.
(2) The term in office of the members of the Trial Jury for Magistrates appointed under the terms of this article will be established by law.

Artilce 10  [Special Attorney for Patrimonial Affairs]
Until the Special Attorney for Patrimonial Affairs is appointed, incumbent officials will have the powers established under Article 246.
Article 11  [Departmental Organization]
(1) Until a departmental organization law is passed, governors-
elect and members-elect of departmental boards will guide their actions through the provisions of this Constitution alone.
(2) Incumbent executive delegates and those who held the same office in 1991 and 1992 may not run for governor or deputy in the 1993 elections.
(3) Until a departmental organization law is passed, thedepartmental boards will consist of a minimum of seven members and a maximum of 21.  The Electoral Board of Asuncion will determine the number of members of the departmental boards taking into account the number of voters residing in each department.
Article 12  [Departmental Governments' Ownership]
Legal ownership of the current facilities of executive branch delegations will be automatically transferred without charge to the respective departmental governments.
Article 13  [Chaco and Nuewva Asuncion Departments]
If by 1 October 1992, the Chaco and Nueva Asuncion departments are still not organized in respect to election, the two deputies corresponding to these departments will be assigned to the departments of President Hayes, Boqueron, and Alto Paraguay, in accordance with the number of voters residing in each department.
Article 14  [Former Presidents are Senators for Life]
The office of senator for life will be held by the citizen holding the office of president of the Republic at the time of the approval of this Constitution, but it will not be extended to any previous president.
Article 15  [Citizen Delegate to the Constituent Assembly]
Until such time in which another Constituent Assembly is held, those who participate in this Constituent Assembly will bear the title of "Citizen Delegate to the Constituent Assembly."
Article 16  [Property of Constituent Assembly]
Those items that were purchased by the Constituent Assembly or that were donated to it will be transferred without charge to the legislative branch.
Article 17  [Documents of Constituent Assembly]
The deposit and conservation of all documents produced by the National Constituent Assembly, such as diaries and minutes of plenary sessions and those of the drafting committee, will be entrusted to the State Central Bank, in the name of and at the disposal of the legislative branch, until such time as when, by law, they are sent to the National Archives.
Article 18  [Copies of the Constitution]
(1) The executive branch will immediately arrange the publication of 10,000 official copies of this Constitution in Spanish and Guarani.
(2) In case of doubt, the Spanish version will prevail.
(3) The study of the Constitution will be promoted through the educational system.
Article 19  [Reelection of Officials]
The current constitutional term will also be taken into account for the purpose of the limits established by this Constitution for the reelection of elective officials of the various branches of government.