Election Management

Article 114  [Establishment]
(1) Election Management Committees are established for the purpose of fair management of elections and national referenda, and dealing with administrative affairs concerning political parties.
(2) The Central Election Management Committee is composed of three members appointed by the President, three members selected by the National Assembly, and three members designated by the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court.  The Chairman of the Committee is elected from among the members.
(3) The term of office of the members of the Committee is six years.
(4) The members of the Committee may not join political parties, nor participate in political activities.
(5) No member of the Committee can be expelled from office except by impeachment or a sentence of imprisonment or heavier punishment.
(6) The Central Election Management Committee may establish, within the limit of laws and decrees, regulations relating to the management of elections, national referenda, and administrative matters concerning political parties and may also establish regulations relating to internal discipline that are compatible with law.
(7) The organization, function, and other necessary matters of the Election Management Committees at each level are determined by law.
Article 115  [Instructions]
(1) Election Management Committees at each level may issue necessary instructions to administrative agencies concerned with respect to administrative matters pertaining to elections and national referenda such as the preparation of the pollbooks.
(2) Administrative agencies concerned, upon receipt of such instructions, have to comply.
Article 116  [Campaigns]
(1) Election campaigns are conducted under the management of the Election Management Committees at each level within the limit set by law.  Equal opportunity has to be guaranteed.
(2) Except as otherwise prescribed by law, expenditures for elections are not imposed on political parties or candidates.