The Parliament

Article 1
(1) The Parliament is appointed by free, secret and direct elections.

(2) The Parliament consists of one chamber comprising three hundred and forty-nine members.  Alternates shall be appointed for all members.
Article 2
(1) Every Swedish citizen residing in Sweden is entitled to vote in Parliament elections.  Provisions are laid down in law regarding the voting rights of Swedish citizens who are not resident in Sweden.  No one who has not attained the age of 18 years on or before election day is entitled to vote.

(2) Any question of whether a right to vote exists under Paragraph (1) shall be determined on the basis of a voters' roll drawn up before the election.
Article 3
Ordinary elections for the Parliament shall be held every fourth year.
Article 4
(1) The Government may order an extra election to be held between ordinary elections.  Extra elections shall be held within three months of the issue of such an order.

(2) After an election for the Parliament has been held, the Government is debarred from issuing an order for an extra election until three months have elapsed from the first meeting of the newly-elected Parliament.  Nor may the Government issue an order for an extra election while ministers retain their posts, after having all been formally discharged, pending the assumption of office by a new Government.

(3) Provisions concerning an extra election in a particular case are set forth in Chapter 6, Article 3.
Article 5
(1) A newly-elected Parliament assembles on the fifteenth day after election day but no sooner than the fourth day after the result of the election has been declared.

(2) Each election is valid for the period running from the day on which the newly-elected Parliament convenes until the Parliament elected next - thereafter convenes.  This period is the electoral period of the Parliament.
Article 6
(1) Sweden is divided into constituencies for the purpose of elections to the Parliament.

(2) The Parliament is made up of three hundred and tenpermanent constituency seats and thirty-nine adjustment seats.

(3) The permanent constituency seats are distributed among the constituencies on the basis of a calculation of the relationship between the number of those entitled to vote in each constituency and the total number of persons entitled to vote in the entire country.  This distribution between constituencies is fixed for three years at a time.
Article 7
(1) The seats are distributed between parties.  Party is understood to mean any association or group of voters which appears in an election under a specific designation.

(2) Only a party which receives at least four per cent of the votes cast throughout the whole of the country is entitled to share in the distribution of seats .A party which receives fewer votes however participates in the distribution of the permanent constituency seats in any constituency where it receives at least twelve per cent of the votes cast.
Article 8
(1) The permanent constituency seats in each constituency are distributed proportionately between the parties on the basis of the result of the election in that constituency.

(2) The adjustment seats are distributed between the parties in such a way that the distribution of all the seats in the Parliament, other than those permanent constituency seats which have been allocated to a party with less than four per cent of the votes cast, is proportionate to the total number of votes cast respectively for the participating parties in the whole of the country.  If, in the distribution of the permanent constituency seats, a party obtains more seats than correspond to the proportional representation for that party in the Parliament, then that party and the permanent constituency seats which it has obtained shall be disregarded in the distribution of the adjustment seats.  After the adjustment seats have been distributed between the parties, they are allocated to constituencies.

(3) The odd number method is used to distribute the seats between parties, with the first divisor adjusted to 1.4.
Article 9
One member and one or more alternates for that member shall be appointed for each seat a party obtains.
Article 10
Only a person who is qualified to vote can be a member of the Parliament or an alternate member of the Parliament.
Article 11
(1) Appeals against elections for the Parliament may be lodged with an Election Review Committee appointed by the Parliament.  A person who has been elected a member of the Parliament shall exercise his function regardless of any such appeal.  If the result of the election is revised, a new member takes his seat as soon as the revised result has been announced.  The foregoing applies equally to alternates.

(2) The Election Review Committee comprises a chairman, who must be currently, or have been previously, a permanent judge and who must not be a member of the Parliament, and six other members.  The members are elected after each ordinary election, as soon as the result of the election becomes final, and serve until new elections for the Committee have been held.  There is no right of appeal against a decision of the Committee.
Article 12
Further provisions regarding matters under Articles 2 to 11 and regarding the appointment of alternates for the members of the Parliament shall be laid down in the Parliament Act or other statute law.