The Government

Article 1
The Government comprises the Prime Minister and other members of the Cabinet.The Prime Minister is appointed in the manner prescribed in Articles 2 to 4.  The Prime Minister appoints the other members of the Cabinet.
Article 2
(1) When a Prime Minister is to be appointed, the Speaker shall summon for consultation one or more representatives from each party group in the Parliament.  The Speaker shall confer with the Deputy Speakers and shall then submit a proposal to the Parliament.

(2) The Parliament shall proceed to vote on the proposal, no later than the fourth day thereafter, without preparation in committee.  If more than half the members of the Parliament vote against the proposal, it is rejected.  In all other circumstances it is approved.
Article 3
If the Parliament rejects the Speaker's proposal the procedure laid down in Article 2 shall be resumed.  If the Parliament rejects the Speaker's proposal four times in succession, the procedure for appointing a Prime Minister is discontinued and resumed only after an election for the Parliament has been held.  Unless ordinary elections must in any case be held within three months, an extra election shall be held within that same period.
Article 4
When the Parliament has approved a new Prime Minister, he shall inform the Parliament as soon as possible of the names of the members of his Government.  Government changes hands thereafter at a special session of the Cabinet before the Head of State or, if he is prevented from being present, before the Speaker.  The Speaker shall always be summoned to such a session.

The Speaker issues letters of appointment for the Prime Minister on behalf of the Parliament.
Article 5
If the Parliament declares that the Prime Minister or any other Minister no longer enjoys its confidence, the Speaker shall discharge the Minister concerned.  When the Government is in a position to order an extra election, however, no decision shall be made to discharge the Minister if the Government issues an order for an extra election within one week from the declaration of no confidence.
Article 6
A Minister shall be discharged if he so requests, the Prime Minister by the Speaker.  and any other member of the Government by the Prime Minister.  The Prime Minister may also in other circumstances discharge another member of the Government.
Article 7
If the Prime Minister resigns or dies, the Speaker shall discharge the other members of the Government.
Article 8
If all the members of the Government have been discharged, they shall retain their posts until a new Government has taken office.  If any Minister other than the Prime Minister has been discharged at his own request, he shall retain his post until a successor has taken office, if the Prime Minister so requests.
Article 9
(1) Only a person who has been a Swedish citizen for not less than ten years may be a Minister.

(2) A Minister may not undertake any public or private employment, nor may he undertake any commission or perform any function which is liable to impair public confidence in him.
Article 10
In the absence of the Speaker, a Deputy Speaker shall assume the duties incumbent upon the Speaker under the present chapter.