Delegation and Distribution of Powers

§ 1. Governing power

The Commonwealth or State of Vermont shall be governed by a Governor (or Lieutenant-Governor), a Senate and a House of Representatives, in manner and form following:

§ 2. Supreme legislative power

The Supreme Legislative power shall be exercised by a Senate and a House of Representatives.

§ 3. Supreme executive power

The Supreme Executive power shall be exercised by a Governor, or in the Governor's absence, a Lieutenant-Governor.

§ 4. Judiciary

The judicial power of the State shall be vested in a unified judicial system which shall be composed of a Supreme Court, a Superior Court, and such other subordinate courts as the General Assembly may from time to time ordain and establish.

§ 5. Departments to be distinct

The Legislative, Executive, and Judiciary departments, shall be separate and distinct, so that neither exercise the powers properly belonging to the others.